1. News & Issues
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

About the National Security Council

Direct advisors to the President on national security 


The National Security Council was established by the National Security Act of 1947, as amended (50 U.S.C. 402). The Council was placed in the Executive Office of the President by Reorganization Plan No. 4 of 1949 (5 U.S.C. app.). The National Security Council is chaired by the President. Its statutory members, in addition to the President, are the Vice President and the Secretaries of State and Defense.

The Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff is the statutory military adviser to the Council, and the Director of Central Intelligence is its intelligence adviser. The Secretary of the Treasury, the U.S. Representative to the United Nations, the Assistant to the President for National Security Affairs, the Assistant to the President for Economic Policy, and the Chief of Staff to the President are invited to all meetings of the Council. The Attorney General and the Director of National Drug Control Policy are invited to attend meetings pertaining to their jurisdictions; other officials are invited, as appropriate.

The Council advises and assists the President in integrating all aspects of national security policy as it affects the United States-- domestic, foreign, military, intelligence, and economic--in conjunction with the National Economic Council.

The Council is advised by the Central Intelligence Agency in matters concerning such intelligence activities of the Government departments and agencies as relate to national security.

  • About the Central Intelligence Agency
  • ©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.